General discussion about CrossCode.
no avatar
User

ubergeek77

Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:23 am

Let's get this masterpeice running on Android

by ubergeek77 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:43 am

Original Post:SHOW
I just picked up the game on GOG (after seeing what an amazing game it was on Twitch), and I haven't been able to put it down since.

The music is amazing, the story is well written, the characters are memorable, the gameplay is fantastic; I could go on and on.

The thing that impresses me most about this game? It's (basically) all HTML5! As a developer, I can appreciate what a truly amazing accomplishment this is. And since it's an HTML5 game, and inherently can run in a browser, I want to take it a step further. I'd like to run this on my Android phone.

Don't get me wrong, the Desktop experience is fantastic, but I'm not always near my PC, and lately I've been enjoying playing stuff on-the-go with my favorite controller and a smartphone grip.

The good news is, the game does run on Android! After applying a very simple fix to the game, I started a webserver on my PC, served the "assets" directory in the game files, and loaded a webpage with my PC's IP and port on Chrome on my Android phone. And it works! Best of all, the game fully works with a Bluetooth DINPUT controller without any fiddling whatsoever. Even the triggers and analog sticks get mapped correctly. Awesome!